You have less than $40 in your bank account and payday is still 4 days away. And you have no food in your house and you have to get gas and pay your therapist (twice) and the daycare.

I don’t know about you, but money stuff stresses me out more than almost anything else. After checking my bank account this morning and realizing I had like almost no money, I decided it would be a good time to work on my headstand. Because you can’t think about killing yourself when you’re doing cool yoga shit. Not that I was suicidal over the money (or lack there of) in my account, but it certainly was a huge added stressor.

I started back to work this week and it has been a rough adjustment. Work is more stressful this year than previous years, for a slew of reasons. And trying to accept that I can no longer go to a yoga class every day has been a challenge. I did actually get to attend one last night – it was a fluke thing that my husband had the night off to watch my daughter. The yoga class wasn’t one I had been to before. I wasn’t crazy about the instructor, but I NEEDED that class. I needed to move and be present with my breath and forget about all of the stress, anxiety, and flashbacks from the week. For the first time in 8 days, I felt 100% safe and ok. That is what yoga class does for me. 

And this morning when I woke up to massive financial stress, I wanted a yoga class. But I settled on an inversion, because ultimately, in that moment, that is what I needed. And my day today was so much better than any other day this week. I should start every day in an inversion, and you should too 🙂

PS: Don’t you wish you had enough 100s in your account to fan yourself with?!?! Actually, today I’d just be content with two 100s 🙂

Image from: https://www.flickr.com/photos/pictures-of-money/17121923990

