Today in yoga, I was the only person to show up for the $7 Flow class. This means, I got a private session for $7! Woohoo! I love when this happens because I really do like learning more about my alignment and how to better my practice. In my class, we talked about how I tore my meniscus in my left knee years ago and I struggle in yoga on my left side. The teacher gave me some tips for stretching at home to help even out my sides before teacher training begins. 

So after yoga, I was thinking about how different my left side and right side are, and when I push and push on my left side, it will eventually reach a point where it doesn’t give anymore, and it actually starts retracting. I have to use props like blankets and blocks to support my left knee in yoga. I have to treat that part of my body with care; I have to know when to gently push, and when I need to pull back. The left side of my body is wounded as a result of injuries that occurred when I was much, much younger.  

The left side of my body is similar to the part of me that is wounded from years of childhood sexual abuse. I have to treat that part of myself with care and understanding. In life, I need to know how to support the part of me that is damaged from the abuse. I have to know when to push myself, and when to pull back. If I keep working, that part of me will eventually be closer to the part that isn’t wounded. 

I do believe the damage caused from trauma will heal. That part of me may not be 100% ok all the time, but it will improve.

PS: I convinced the owner of the yoga studio I went to today to order sandbags 🙂 By the time I got out of class, he had them ordered and set to be delivered in 3 days. If that’s not customer service, I don’t know what is! Yay for sandbags and extra grounding!!!
Photo from: http://www.alignthoughts.com/heres-why-yoga-is-not-just-about-physical-exercise/

