…wash them in the bathroom to drink like the bands.

10 years ago today I was pissed off at the world and struggling with my need to be thin. I had just broken up with my first “college” boyfriend. After just a few weeks together, he told me he loved me and that just wasn’t really my thing. It was my freshman year of college and my roommates and I decided to get drunk and go to a club. Of course one of us had to be the DD, and it was not me. 

We went downtown to a local club. By the time we got there, I was 50 shades of intoxicated. Because we were only 18, the sexy guys at the door drew big black x’s on the back of our hands. But don’t worry, no one pays attention to those. 

I want to add here that being “girly” isn’t really my thing. I was in my jeans from PacSun and Etnie sneakers. My shirt was cute though and made my boobs look awesome. 

I saw this cute blonde guy on the other side of the room. I said “He looks like a nice person to talk to,” in my drunken, slurred speech. My friends urged me to go talk to him. So I did. 

10 years later, I’m married to this cute blonde guy who is 11 years older than me. He is the only guy I’ve ever had consensual sex with. Our marriage is certainly not perfect. And I often wonder what life would be like if we went our separate ways. But I don’t have any regrets about going to talk to him in my intoxicated state 10 years ago 🙂

