My love for cupcakes is probably excessive. When I was in high school, I baked cupcakes all the time. Baking was, at the time, my most effective coping strategy. I would make pies and cupcakes.  Because I wasn’t really eating when I was in high school, I would take them to school and share with everyone. Even now, I still love to bake when I’m stressed out. Last time my shrink went out of town, I made homemade strawberry cupcakes and they were fan-fucking-tastic. Literally the best strawberry cupcakes I’ve ever had. 

Tonight, my daughter had a birthday party to attend and it was located in the same plaza as a local bakery. After the party, I had to go in and get this delicious chocolate cream-filled cupcake. When I got home, it occurred to me that today is day 350 without cutting. It’s only fitting that I celebrate it with a cupcake 😉 Any excuse for cupcakes! 

I haven’t been to a yoga class in a week. Life has been too stressful, and it’s been impossible to find time. Indulging in my cupcake tonight, and not feeling guilty about it, was the highlight of my week in terms of “doing nice things for yourself.” 

This next week will be busy, with the holiday coming up. I am anxious about traveling, anxious about being around my family for several days, and anxious about not being able to go to my regular yoga classes. I see my shrink again on Tuesday, but then she’ll be out of town for two weeks. This is also adding to my anxiety. I typically don’t do any of the cooking for Thanksgiving, but I may need to find a way to help out this year. If I can’t make it to a yoga class, I will need to keep myself busy with trying new recipes. Anything to keep my anxiety numbers low. 

Feel free to comment with your favorite recipe 🙂 

