This post is probably going to sound pretty cynical, so let me start off with a list of the things that I’m good at:

  • My job (most days)
  • Writing
  • Baking cupcakes and cookies
  • Math
  • Blowjobs….yes….that’s on the list
  • Using my breath when I’m anxious or in a yin class
  • Backbends
  • Being there for my friends
  • Making and keeping commitments 

My therapist wants me to reflect on my use of the “F” word: Failure. This is going to be a process…I can already tell. 

Tonight, let’s start with a list of things that I think I regularly fail at:

  • Asking for help
  • Being receptive of those willing to help me
  • Controlling my anger
  • Being a “good” mom…ya know- like my friend who has been snap chatting me all week about how much she’s enjoying this extra time off with her daughter. Meanwhile I’m sending mine to daycare so that I can go to yoga every day and sleep and watch Teen Mom and “find what feels good”…. #worstmomever
  • Being nice and compassionate
  • Making and maintaining friendships 
  • Being open and honest…communicating when things are bothering me
  • Setting boundaries…and enforcing them. Oh that’s a big one that I fail at.
  • Being optimistic
  • Not being anxious over little things
  • Keeping my younger self safe
  • Allowing myself to cry when I need to
  • Most arm balances
  • Geography and History….did you know that Long Island is not a state?
  • Losing weight
  • Loving myself….showing myself compassion
  • Showing compassion towards others
  • Taking life one day at a time
