2016 was filled with so many ups and downs. I spent the year working so, so hard on bettering myself and my life. I accomplished the goals that I set for myself for 2016. I went to probably close to 100 yoga classes in the last seven months (maybe more). I learned to show compassion, towards others and towards myself. I worked on “trusting the process.” In 2016, I changed more than I ever thought possible. I went through all of 2016 without cutting myself! That, in and of itself, is nothing short of a miracle! I am looking forward to 2017 and all of the opportunities that it holds (especially yoga teacher training!!!). Below is my reflection on 2026 and my goals for 2017:

  1. Something I would like to happen in 2017:
    1. No longer need marriage counseling
    2. Decrease debt – particularly credit card and medical debt
    3. My husband getting a better job with consistent pay and benefits
  2. Three goals for myself in 2017:
    1. Be a better mommy – manage anger and frustration better
    2. Tell at least one person about my trauma and what it is like for me to live with PTSD, and how yoga helps with that (aside from my blog)
    3. Complete yoga teacher training (and embrace the experience)
  3. Something that was hard this year:
    1. My marriage
    2. Friendships – making and maintaining them
    3. Being a “good” mom
    4. Balancing my mental health issues and trauma work with the real world and day-to-day stuff
  4. Something that I am proud of doing in 2016:
    1. Telling my marriage counselor about my trauma stuff
    2. NOT CUTTING!!!!
    3. Going to yoga every day during the summer and winter vacation
  5. My favorite part of 2016:
    1. Getting closer with my husband – more emotional connection
    2. Yoga
    3. Celebrating days 320 and 365 without cutting
  6. Gratitude for 2016:
    1. My family and the time that I had with them
    2. My husband’s willingness to go to marriage counseling and change
    3. My marriage counselor – because her input is always really helpful for me
    4. One of the friends I made in 2016 – she embraces my crazy, but also brings me down a notch or 10
    5. Yoga – and my amazing yoga teachers
    6. My daughter – she’s the reason I don’t kill myself sometimes
    7. 4.5 years sober – even though I’m not going to meetings now, this is still a big deal
    8. My extra jobs, which led to more financial stability
    9. My hard work in therapy….soooooo much hard work this year in therapy
    10. My therapist – for so many reasons. Without her, I don’t think I would’ve survived this year sober and cut-free. My gratitude for her is endless.
