Tonight I made a last minute decision to join some girls from my yoga teacher training at a local brewery. I was excited, but also anxious. I’ve never really been to a brewery before. I also don’t drink. I have 4.5 years of AA sobriety. The idea of going to a brewery makes me cringe a little…putting myself in that situation.

I weighed my fears against the benefits and decided it was worth it to try. The two girls I went with both drank. Neither seemed to care that I didn’t. During teacher training last month, I felt like I bonded with each of these girls. We had worked together on various exercises and activities. All three of us love yoga. 

Tonight is the first night I’ve been out with friends really since I quit drinking almost 5 years ago, with the exception of like one concert. It was so nice to just sit and talk with someone other than my husband…or my shrink(s). And not one time did I get interrupted by the sweet voice of my two year old saying, “Mommy? Mommy? Mommy?!” I was able to just be present and enjoy the moment and the company of other women who love yoga like I do. I think of all the things I’ve done this week to practice self-care, this one was my favorite. Breweries and babes for the win 😊💜

 

 

PS: While I do have a thing for super skinny, hot blonde chicks, I am not sexually attracted to anyone in my yoga teacher training…I just thought it was a fun title 😊

