Today marks day 450 without cutting. When I first quit, I thought about it every day. After almost 14 years of using self-injury as my main coping skill, I couldn’t fathom how I would possibly survive without it. I set small goals: 50 days, 100 days, etc. I celebrated each small accomplishment. Slowly, over time, the thoughts and urges became less and less.

Now that I’m at Day 450, I only have urges to cut every once in a while. My mind isn’t as cloudy and I dissociate less. I have a variety of other coping skills that I regularly use now, including yoga and breathing. 

The gratitude I have for where I am today and the people who helped me get here is endless. I never believed it would be possible to live without cutting. There is no way I would be here today without the work I’ve done in therapy, yoga, and my breath. 

Wednesday, March 1st is self-injury awareness day. Please join me in wearing orange on Wednesday to help show your support for those still struggling. 

