I am doing mostly ok again this week. Still some ptsd stuff, but mostly ok. 

My therapist suggested I reread the memory that we worked last week. She had me read it aloud three times when I saw her on Tuesday. The first time, it was so hard to stay present. I couldn’t just trust that they were words on a page. My mind played the movie, and more than once I felt like I was there again. The second time was a little easier. When it came time for me to read it again, she asked me to read it with confidence. Apparently it’s supposed to help me take back my power. It wasn’t easy, but I did it. I read the memory out loud with strength and courage, and I didn’t dissociate at all in the process 😊

This weekend, my sister is getting married. I’ll be traveling, dealing with my three year old, and hoping my husband and I get along. I don’t really have time to stress about trauma memories. Today has been relatively calm in my brain as far as PTSD symptoms go. I’m hoping it continues. Maybe taking back my power was exactly what I needed. πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’œ

 

 

Image from http://www.yourinnerpiece.com/apps/blog/show/41852801-taking-back-your-power

