Tonight finished up my fifth weekend of yoga teacher training. This means I am more than halfway through. I can’t believe it; I can’t believe it has gone so quickly. I can literally remember having multiple conversations with my therapist last year about how I really couldn’t see myself going through yoga teacher training…and then here I am, more than halfway finished!

I had to work harder to stay mindful and present this weekend. Over the past few weeks, I have been doing some pretty intense trauma work in therapy, and therefore have more trauma memories, sensations, and feelings coming up on a day-to-day basis. I had a difficult time managing that anxiety this morning after having nightmares last night.

This afternoon in teacher training, we did a 30-40 minute yoga nidra. When we did yoga nidra, it was the first time in several days that I really felt my body feel calm. For me, yoga nidra is usually followed by sleep and then I wake up and attribute my decreased anxiety to sleep. However, today, because it wasn’t followed by sleep, I can say with 100% certainty that yoga nidra deescalated the physical anxiety that I was dealing with this weekend. It was pretty incredible. In fact, this realization and huge sense of relief led to me crying in restorative child’s pose when we started our gentle practice right afterwards.

I have tremendous gratitude for yoga, my yoga instructors, and the journey that I am on. Tonight, I am going to bed with a peaceful mind, happy heart, and calm body.

